Denyse Schmidt Quilt Sets for Baby

December 2, 2006

ds-baby-quilts.jpg

We all know that the nursery is really not for the new baby. The baby doesn’t care whether she’s surrounded by fairies or bumblebees. It’s us mothers who have this fantasy of a completely coordinated nursery.

I was the same and spent the majority of my nursery budget on a beautiful storybook set from The Warm Biscuit Bedding Company. I felt I put together a very unique and special nursery for Maya but by the time she turned one, I was completely bored of the busy print and decided to change the entire decor.

If I could do it all over again, I would probably pick a design scheme that is more inline with the rest of our apartment. Something modern and simple. When I recently came across designer Denyse Schmidt and her quilts in an issue of of American Patchwork & Quilting magazine (I don’t quilt!), I couldn’t help but wish I could do it all over again.

Denyse’s 100% cotton, hand-stitched quilts are playful yet classic at the same time. They’re designed to blend in with any modern decor and allow a nursery to be what it needs to be: a relaxing haven for both mom and baby.

Featured above is the What a Dish Crib Set available for $195 at Brooklyn’s Mini Jake children’s store. You can browse other fabric patterns on Mini Jake’s web site or on dsquilts.com. Maybe you’ll get inspired to update the master bedroom as well.

Leave a Reply

